History of the de Paul School

  • 1970

    Anne Rita Mauck SCN founded The de Paul School in 1970.

  • 1977

    The de Paul School Board purchased the former Longfellow Elementary School, which remains our current location at 1925 Duker Avenue in the Highlands.

  • 1975 to 1985

    Louisville de Paul founded other de Paul Schools and Programs in Eastern Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio, Florida, New Jersey, Louisiana, Texas, and Pennsylvania.

  • 1980 to 1996

    Families from across the continental United States -- as well as from India, Great Britain, Central America, Canada, and Japan -- attended de Paul’s six-weeks Summer Boarding Program.

  • 1988

    The de Paul School’s “Transitional School” (Middle School) was constructed.

  • 1992

    The de Paul School began tutorial programs for adults and high school learners.

  • 2000

    A multipurpose building (gym, cafeteria, and convocation center) was constructed and the school added Physical Education to its schedule of classes.

  • 2005

    The de Paul School added a diverse athletics program, with the Huskies competing against other local schools in basketball, field hockey, cross country, and other sports.

  • 2010

    The de Paul School added a multi-dimensional Arts and Humanities Program.

  • 2013

    At the invitation of the US Embassy in Belgrade, de Paul Staff traveled to Serbia to provide professional development to teachers throughout that European nation.

  • 2013

    The de Paul School renovated its entire early elementary corridor and opened a Kindergarten program.

  • 2016

    The de Paul School renovated its entire Building #2 (formerly Transitional Building).

  • 2018

    The Founders Campaign successfully concluded, resulting in a complete renovation of the 15 classrooms within our 110 years-old main building.

  • 2020

    The de Paul School celebrated its 50th anniversary!

The de Paul has earned accreditations from the Independent Schools Association of the Central States, the National Association of Independent Schools, the KY Non-Public Schools Commission, and the Kentucky Association of Independent Schools. ISACS accreditations, granted every seven years, have been earned in 2020, 2013, 2006, 1997, and 1990.